Music concert JOAN VIDAL SEXTET in Barcelona

Full programming

Joan Vidal al Jamboree Jazz Club Barcelona.


Illusionary Rhythm & Deptford Suite

10€ Box office
8€ Web20% Off
Tuesday 24 September 2013

Joan Vidll piano, drums and composition, Gabriel Amargant tenor saxo and clarinet, Martí Serra tenor sax and soprano, Adrià Plana guitar, Marco Mezquida piano, Miguel Serna double bass. 


The Joan Vidal Sextet is a project resulting from Joan Vidal’s stay at the Royal Academy of Music in London. After presenting the group at the 606 Jazz Club and the jazz cycle at the Royal Academy, Vidal returns to Barcelona and redefines the line-up with five of the best-known performers on the jazz scene in this country: Martí Serra, Gabriel Amargant, Adrià Plana, Marco Mezquida and Miguel Serna.


Illusionary Rhythm

The first to be presented is this daring project based on the work of the classical composer Gyôrgy Ligeti. The repertoire also includes adaptations of other unique composers like Bela Bartok, the Mexican Conlon Nancarrow and the 15th-century composer Johannes Ockeghem, for whom Ligeti felt deep admiration.


Deptford Suite

This original work by Joan Vidal inspired by the literary trilogy by the Canadian writer Robertson Davies. The suite, consisting of seven movements, all moving between signature and free jazz and contemporary music, has won an award from the Catalan Association of Jazz and Modern Musicians.

On the Net


Plaça Reial 17
08002 Barcelona
Tel. 93 319 17 89
Fax. 93 315 02 21

Full programming

  • Jamboree Jazz CLub Barcelona
  • Moog Electronic Dancing Club Barcelona
  • Tarantos - Espectacles Flamenco Barcelona
  • Tarantos Club - Sessions de Indie, Pop, Rock Barcelona
  • Jamboree Dance Club Barcelona
  • Fundació Mas i Mas - Concerts de música clàssica a Barcelona
Logo Grup Mas i Mas

Contact | Legal warning | Privacy policy

© 2019 Grup Mas i Mas,tots els drets reservats